GA DUI Laws are Strict
Georgia DUI penalties are tough! A recent study shows that Georgia is one of the strictest states in the country for DUIs. The research was done by a website called “WalletHub”. They gave each state points based on a list of criteria.
We analyzed the results of the study and found there are a few clarifications we can make:
- The GA state statute says that the minimum jail time for a first DUI conviction is 10 days and for a second conviction it is 90 days. Georgia, Oklahoma and Arizona have a 10 day requirement for first-time convictions. Most states require 1-3 days and many do not have a minimum jail sentence.
Clarification from study: Although the statute does say there is a 10 day minimum, a judge can actually suspend all but 24 hours of jail time for a first time conviction. For a second offense it’s all but 72 hours and third, 15 days.
- An administrative license suspension could last up to 360 days. That is the longest penalty compared to all 50 states. The closest? Ten states, including Oklahoma and Florida, have a 180-day administrative suspension.
Clarification from study: The 360-day administrative suspension applies only if you refuse a state chemical test.
Georgia DUI Penalties Compared to Other States
The strictest state, according to the study, is Arizona. Penalties there are slightly harsher and more expensive than in Georgia. The most lenient state, the study says, was North Dakota. That is because they have no mandatory jail time or minimum fines for first and second-time offenders. If you would like to look at how other states fared in the study, here is a link to all of the data.
You May Have Other Circumstances
There are so many variables in a DUI case, it is hard to know what is true for each case. If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in the state of Georgia, Schiavone Law can help. We understand the complexity of the process and how to help you avoid some of the harshest penalties in the country.
Arrested and Need Help? Call Ashley Schiavone
If you’ve been arrested for DUI in Georgia, contact a seasoned Gwinnett County dui attorney who understands the parameters of driving under the influence in Georgia. Ashley Schiavone can take a look at your case and see if there are ways your charges can be reduced or if it is a case that can be tried in court.