The stores are stocked with pencils and dorm supplies. Parents seem to have a little more bounce in their step. In the spirit of the time of year, we at Schiavone Law thought it would be a good time to tell you about the different types of Traffic School in Georgia.
1. ADAP – If you are under the age of 18 and wish to obtain a Georgia Driver’s License, the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) is required. It is a one hour session taught at public and private schools, but it is also available online. If you are under 18 years of age, you cannot get a license in Georgia without this course.
2. Driver Education – 16-year-olds who want to get their license have additional requirements. They must attend an approved Driver’s Education class and get 40 hours of supervised driving experience. Check the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) for a list of approved schools. Parents of teens who attend these classes are entitled to a tax deduction and possible insurance reductions.
3. Defensive Driving – This six-hour course can be taken for a variety of reasons, including a point deduction or reinstatement of the driver’s license. The class is sometimes court-ordered, but can also be taken by choice.
4. Risk Reduction – If you are convicted of Driving Under the Influence in Georgia, you will be required to take a 20-hour Risk Reduction class before you can get your driver’s license back. The cost of this class is set by state law at $355.00, which includes the class, materials and a pre-class assessment. The course covers misconceptions about alcohol/drug usage, group discussion, video presentations and activities that help students devise new methods to prevent future infractions. It must be taken in-person through a state-approved agency. Here is a list of DUI schools provided by the Georgia DDS.
DUI arrest requirements can be confusing but you must take the proper legal steps within 30 days! We can help – call Schiavone Law (770) 578-2344 for a free consultation.