Contact a DUI Lawyer – If your license is taken by police and you are given a 1205 for for a Temporary Driving Permit, you have 10 business days to file for a hearing or you risk your license going under a civil suspension. Contact a lawyer that knows the process, so they can help you get started.
Risk Reduction Classes/DUI School – In Georgia, whether you are convicted of a DUI or your case is reduced to Reckless Driving, you can expect to be required to attend risk reduction classes. There are centers all over Metro Atlanta, there is likely one near you.
Substance Use Evaluation/Treatment – You can also schedule a drug and alcohol evaluation, and seek their recommended treatment. Ashley Schiavone suggests Georgia Recovery Centers, you can reach them at 770–988–8333.
Community Service – In most cases a minimum of 40 hours community service is also required. It is generally best to perform it in the county where the offense occurred. Make sure that the organization is a legitimate nonprofit organization. If you have doubts, just ask for verification that they are a 501(c)(3) entity.
MADD Victim Impact Panel – Courts often require you to attend a Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) victim impact panel. You can find more about this by contacting the Georgia MADD office.
Save Up – An absolute constant in a DUI case is court fines and surcharges. They will be a part of the process so it is a good idea to begin saving money.
None of these steps will be due until disposition of your case, but if you are proactive in completing them it can often help in negotiations. Sometimes it can shorten the length or reporting requirements while you are on probation. If you want to get started, Contact Schiavone Law Group at 770-578-2344.
Ashley Schiavone of the Schiavone Law Group has an excellent rating with AVVO and is the author of Georgia DEFENDING DUI: Case Outline for 2015, a handbook for Georgia DUI lawyers.