If you have been arrested for a DUI in Georgia for the first time, you may be wondering what penalties you face. While every conviction can be different, there are some specific penalties that are written into Georgia law for your first DUI offense.
Possible Penalties for First-Offense, Non-Drug-Related DUI Conviction
- Probation: In the state of Georgia, a DUI conviction means at least 12 months of probation. You will be required to pay a supervision fee while a probation officer monitors your progress on the terms of your sentence.
- Jail time: 1-10 days, but can often be waived or credited to you if you were put in jail after your arrest. Georgia Law requires 24 hours of jail time if your Blood Alcohol Level is over %.08.
- Fines: A fine of $300 – $1000, plus court costs and surcharges. These surcharges can be steep and raise the fines significantly.
- Community Service: At least 40 hours of community service work.
- DUI Risk Reduction School: Sometimes referred to as DUI School. The cost of these programs can be around $350 and require a commitment of 20 hours of class time.
- Substance Abuse Counseling: You are also required to be evaluated for dependence on drugs/alcohol. If it is determined that you need treatment, your sentence may include counseling sessions.
- MADD Mothers Victim Impact Panel: A two-hour panel where speakers share how impaired driving impacted their lives. It is required by “some” courts.
- Driver’s License Suspension: Your license will be suspended for 12 months. Some people are eligible for limited work permits to drive to work or school and can apply
for early reinstatement after completion of a Risk Reduction Program and payment of a $210 reinstatement fee.
Note about license suspension: Conviction license suspension is separate from an administrative suspension, which can be imposed before you are convicted.
Call an Experienced DUI Attorney
If you are arrested for a DUI in the state of Georgia, your best course of action is to get help from an experienced defense attorney. We may be able to avoid or reduce stiff penalties outlined in Georgia law. Schiavone Law serves Fulton and Gwinnett Counties.