If you have been convicted of a DUI in the state of Georgia, any subsequent convictions you receive will come with steeper penalties. Here is what you can expect if you are convicted of a 2nd DUI offense within a ten year period, based on your arrest dates.
(For information about a 1st DUI, click here.)
Penalties for Your Second DUI Offense in Georgia – Within 10 Years
- Jail Time: The law allows for up to one year of jail time, but requires at least 72 hours.
- Probation: Twelve months of probation minus jail time. You will be required to pay a supervision fee while a probation officer monitors your progress on the terms of sentence.
- Fines: Base fines range from $600 – $1000. But, you are also on the hook for court costs and surcharges, which can raise the costs significantly.
- Community service: In addition to other time served, you are required to perform a minimum of 240 community service.
- Risk Reduction Program: Also known as DUI School. The cost of these programs can be around $350 and require a commitment of 20 hours of class time.
- Substance Abuse Counseling : You are also required to be evaluated for dependence on drugs/alcohol. If it is determined that you need treatment, your sentence will include counseling sessions.
- Driver’s License Suspension: Your license will be suspended for 12 months. Some people are eligible for limited work permits and can apply for early reinstatement after completion of a Risk Reduction Program and payment of a $210 reinstatement fee.
Note about license suspension: Conviction license suspension is separate from an administrative suspension, which can be imposed before you are convicted.
Penalties Within 5 Years
If your second DUI arrest happens within 5 years of your previous arrest (all periods are measured from date of arrest to date of arrest), the state of Georgia has some additional penalties:
- Requirement of Ignition Interlock Device: After a 4 months of hard suspension, 12 months of Ignition Interlock Device.
- Photo/Case made public: There will be a legal notice about your case and a photo published in the county legal organ where you reside or where the conviction is obtained.
- Confiscation of license plates: You must turn in any license plates registered to you. They will not be reissued until your license is reinstated.
Call an Experienced DUI Attorney
Even if you have been through a DUI conviction in the past, a second DUI offense and conviction can be challenging. Make it your first priority to hire an experienced DUI defense attorney to help you with your case. Schiavone Law Group is ready to help.